Merit Commission

Homepage > About Us > Merit Commission

The merit commission ensures a fair and equal opportunity system for the employment, promotion, discipline and discharge of full-time Deputy Sheriffs and merited rank positions. Merited ranks in the Sheriff's Office are Major, Captain, Lieutenant, Sergeant and Deputy Sheriff.

The commission is comprised of five volunteer commissioners, each serving a minimum two-year term. There are three officer positions within the commission: Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary. Officers are elected by simple majority vote of the commissioners. 

Meetings are open to the public and held on the second Wednesday of each month at 10:30 a.m. in the County Administration Building, 667 Ware Rd, Woodstock, next to the Government Center. The Chairperson may call special meetings as necessary.

Meet the Commissioners (6 year terms):

Term Start: Term End:  Name:
04 - 01 - 2014 04 - 01 - 2020 William Mack (Republican)
04 - 17 - 2001 04 - 01 - 2018 Gloria Urch-VanHof (Democrat)
05 - 17 - 1994 04 - 30 - 2015 Janelle A. Crowley (Republican)
06 - 15 - 2004 04 - 30 - 2016 Patrick J. McAndrews (Democrat)

Featured Media Release

A Crystal Lake man has been charged with drug induced homicide in the death of a 29-year-old McHenry woman after a nearly four-month investigation pro… Learn More

Website Developed By:
KMK Media Group